Skip to content

Lancashire soldier goes the distance in Afghanistan

March 24, 2011

A paratrooper from Chorley has raised more than twelve hundred pounds for charity after running a marathon with a difference around his base in Helmand Province.

Lance Corporal Robert Fisher (39) – who is serving with The 3rd Battalion Parachute Regiment in Shahzad – ran around the base twenty-six times in his body armour while carrying a General Purpose Machine Gun (GPMG).

Lance Corporal Robert Fisher, 3 PARA.

“I’ve always wanted to run a marathon carrying a GPMG while wearing body armour,” he said. “I thought it would be something different.”

It took Robert just over seven hours to complete the gruelling run.

“It was one of the hardest things I’ve done,” he admitted. “The marathons I’ve done in the past carrying weight have been tough, but this was a lot of harder. I was hoping to do it in under six hours, but I started cramping up around the nineteen mile point.”

“For the last six miles, it was mind over matter. For me, it’s worth the pain, it’s worth the fatigue. I’ve raised over twelve hundred pounds for two charities.

The money will be split between the Afghanistan Trust and the NSPCC.

“I try to do a marathon every year for charity,” he said. “I try to put my fitness to good use.”

Lance Corporal Robert Fisher (3 PARA) during his marathon run.

When he’s not running marathons, Robert serves as a Physical Training Instructor (PTI), making sure his fellow soldiers stay fit. He’s been out in Afghanistan since last September.

“I’ve had a number of duties out here. I’m the PTI, but I’ve also been working on the security of the base, doing guard duties, and also liaising with the locals.”

Robert is due to return home to Chorley next month (20th April 2011).

“My wife and family have been very supportive while I’ve been out here,” he said. “But they’re always glad to see me come home.”

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael Rees-Prichett permalink
    March 24, 2011 16:21

    Well done Bob…sorry that’s an understatement..and come back safe and just as fit..good luck

  2. jack permalink
    March 24, 2011 16:21

    well done. go paras.

  3. March 24, 2011 19:09

    Well done !!

  4. neil permalink
    March 24, 2011 21:34

    That’s why we have the best,well done you are all the very best.Could not have any one better.Wish you all the very best…

  5. aaa permalink
    March 24, 2011 22:35

    something truly amazing, great example for every soldier

  6. Shadowman permalink
    March 25, 2011 10:59

    Well done, Lance Corporal Fisher! Good on you and the “Gungy Third”!

  7. Matt B permalink
    March 25, 2011 20:54

    despite our traditional despise of each other, even as a royal marine I can say that’s a hoofing effort. Much respect.

  8. Finn Clausen permalink
    March 26, 2011 21:32

    Nicely done, I wouldnt have been able to do it with a Machine gun.
    BTw. you are doing a good job down there give’em hell.

    Best regards
    CPL F.Clausen DK Home guard

  9. dave walters permalink
    March 27, 2011 08:00

    Well done Brother. I would still be on my first lap. stay well & safe.😎

  10. Garry Owen permalink
    March 27, 2011 09:01

    God bless you and keep you safe. Men like you are why the rest of us can be fat dumb and happy here at home…

Trackbacks

  1. selfless service « sethinpak

Leave a Reply

